a new recipe…

photo by Luca Baroncini Since I’ve been non-existent in the blogging world during hibernation season, I thought I might peek my head out into the wild web and offer a cozy soup recipe I worked up this afternoon. 

I boiled some chicken for a pot pie and had this lovely stock leftover.  I just couldn’t stand to let it go to waste, so I kept it for a soup.  This afternoon I threw some veggies and pasta into the pot and out come a yummy dish that my kiddos slurped up even though it had “yucky” foods in it.  : )

Ingredient:

  • chicken stock – I think I probably had about 8 cups in there.  Maybe more.
  • whole wheat spiral pasta– 1/2 a bag so it was probably about 8 oz.
  • fresh mushrooms – 6 or 7  button size
  • carrots – about 5
  • potatoes – roughly 1 1/2 lbs. cubed
  • 1 can of black eyed peas
  • 4 green onions, chopped

The chicken stock had a little salt substitute and dried minced onion in it to start out.  I chopped up the green onions, mushrooms and added them as the stock was heating up.  When I got a good boil going, I threw in the carrots followed by the pasta, then potatoes.  I let this boil for a few minutes, added the black eyed peas and then reduced to a simmer.  This probably simmered for 30 – 45 minutes. 

photo by Luca Baroncini

 

At dinnertime some of us added a bit of chicken to our bowls of soup but really it was just as wonderful without it. 

If you give it a try, let me know what you think. 

*photos courtesy of Luca Baroncini

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by magdalenaperks on March 23, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    We’ve missed you! Welcome back to spring. I hope you are recovering well! I want to try this recipe soon, as it sounds delicious.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

